som

Kenya

fr
-- From 2019/05/08 to 2019/05/17
-- From Sagala Lodge to Mombasa, Moi International Airport
img






 The GPS road tracklog
 de Sagala Lodge à Mombasa Edelweiss
 du 2019/05/08 au 2019/05/09

Mombasa Edelweiss Camp

Wednesday, May 8 I left Sagala Lodge at the forefront of day to go to Bolloré Transport & Logistics where I arrived around 10:00 thanks to the kindness of a motorist which I had questioned and who led me to it. I met Christine in charge of my file. We regulated the remained details suspends some. I must present my vehicle on Friday, May 10 for the setting out into a container. Then I was going to reserve a room in Lotus Hotel until the loading of the plane for Nairobi, Doha and Nice 17-18/05. Finally I installed my bivouac for two nights at Edelweiss Camp at 25 km away from Mombasa. The rain is ceaseless.

img
img







 The GPS road tracklog
 from Mombasa Edelweiss to Bolloré, Lotus Hotel
 from 2019/05/10 to 2019/05/16

Mombasa, Lotus Hotel

Friday, May 10 while going from Edelweiss Camp to Mombasa, here, at Bolloré, I deposited my luggage in Lotus Hotel. After having solved some problems and having signed documents, Christine led me to the enclosure where was the High Cube 40 feet container intended to receive my vehicle. I have two disappointments from the staff assistance, it did not have there a inclined plan to enter the container; moreover I was not guided into the container, I placed myself my vehicle, I took there with twice which I can neither leave the cabin nor to go along between the walls and the body. Finally I can disconnect the batteries and extract myself from the container, obese excluded! Around midday a taxi transported me to Lotus Hotel. In the afternoon I took my reference marks in the surroundings between two breaks. May is the most rainy in Mombasa.

img img
My truck in the container by Bolloré Lotus Hotel

Monday, May 13, a break appeared in a lead sky. I precipitated to visit Old Town and the Fort Jesus, here. Alas the rain fell by gusts in the wind from the Indian Ocean. As I had the occasion to say it several times since my departure in 2006 for my world tour, the visit of a city is done on foot with the five senses in alarm. Sight to admire the landscapes, the old and modern buildings, hearing for the noises of street, characterized by the two-stroke engine of the Piaggio tri-car, called Tuk-Tuk, smell for the pollution of the internal combustion engines and nauseous waste strewing the pavements, finally the taste to have lunch in two typical restaurants in Mombasa. I thus strolled by the streets of Mombasa fitted with Crocs/clog soled with American Scotch tape wading in the puddle pools of water, mud and the various and varied dejections. Of course I will not have indelicacy to describe the repulsive state of my feet, -"The feet are the object of attentive care"- The below gallery gives a brief outline of Mombasa. I waited during seven days in Lotus Hotel, in particular when the street of the hotel was flooded. On Friday, May 17 I left at the beginning of morning for the MOI international airport to take the plane for Nice via Nairobi and Doha.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img

som

Kenya

eng
-- Du 2019/05/08 au 2019/05/17
-- De Sagala Lodge à Mombasa, Moi International Airport
img






 Le tracé GPS de la route
 de Sagala Lodge à Mombasa Edelweiss
 du 2019/05/08 au 2019/05/09

Mombasa Edelweiss Camp

Mercredi 8 mai je quittais Sagala Lodge à la pointe du jour pour aller chez Bolloré Transport & Logistics où j'arrivais vers 10h00 grâce à l'obligeance d'un automobiliste que j'avais interrogé et qui m'y conduisit. Je rencontrais Christine en charge de mon dossier. Nous réglâmes les détails restés en suspend. Je dois présenter mon véhicule le vendredi 10 mai pour la mise en container. Puis j'allais réserver une chambre au Lotus Hotel jusqu'à l’embarquement de l'avion pour Nairobi, Doha et Nice le 17-18/05. Enfin j'installais mon bivouac pour deux nuits à l'Edelweiss Camp à 25 km de Mombasa. La pluie est incessante.

img
img







 Le tracé GPS de la route
 de Mombasa Edelweiss à Bolloré, Lotus Hotel
 du 2019/05/10 au 2019/05/16

Mombasa, Lotus Hotel

Vendredi 10 mai en allant de l'Edelweiss Camp à Mombasa, ici, chez Bolloré, je déposai mon bagage au Lotus Hotel. Après avoir réglé quelques problèmes et signé des documents, Christine me conduisit à l'enclos où se trouvait le container High Cube 40 pieds destiné à recevoir mon véhicule. J'eus deux déceptions de l'assistance du personnel, il n'y avait pas de plan incliné pour accéder au container ; de plus je ne fus pas guidé dans le container, je plaçais moi-même mon véhicule, je m'y pris à deux fois ne pouvant pas sortir de la cabine ni longer entre la parois et la cellule. Finalement je pus déconnecter les batteries et m'extraire du container, obèse exclu ! Vers midi un taxi me transporta au Lotus Hotel. Dans l'après-midi je prenais mes repères dans les environs entre deux éclaircies. Le mois de mai est le plus pluvieux à Mombasa.

img img
My truck in the container by Bolloré Lotus Hotel

Lundi 13 mai, une éclaircie apparue dans un ciel de plomb. Je me précipitais pour visiter l'Old Town et le Fort Jesus, ici. Hélas la pluie tomba par rafales sous le vent de l'Océan Indien. Comme j'ai eu l’occasion de le dire plusieurs fois depuis mon départ en 2006 pour mon tour du monde, la visite d'une ville se fait à pied avec les cinq sens en alerte. La vue pour admirer les paysages, les édifices anciens et modernes, l’ouïe pour les bruits de rue, caractérisés par le moteur deux-temps du triporteur Piaggio, appelé Tuk-Tuk, l'odorat pour la pollution des moteurs à combustion interne et les déchets nauséabonds jonchant les trottoirs, enfin le gout pour avoir déjeuner dans deux restaurants typiques de Mombasa. Je flânais donc par les rues de Mombasa chaussé de Crocs/clog ressemelés avec du scotch américain pataugeant dans les flaques d'eau, la boue et les déjections multiples et variées. Bien sûr je n'aurai pas l'indélicatesse de décrire l'état repoussant de mes pieds, -"les pieds sont l'objet de soins attentifs"- La galerie de photos donne un aperçu succinct de Mombasa. Je patientais pendant sept jours au Lotus Hotel, notamment quand la rue de l'hôtel était inondée. Le vendredi 17 mai je partis en début de matinée pour l'aéroport International MOI prendre l'avion pour Nice via Nairobi et Doha.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img