som

Spain

fr
-- From 2020/01/13 to 2020/01/19
-- From Valencia to the border
img







 The 17,44 km on foot tracklog, off metro
 from bivouac to metro Marîtim, & metro-Colon
 to visit the old city and back,
 from 2020/01/13 to 2020/01/13

Valencia

Monday, January 13, I set off to explore the old town of Valencia, here, on foot, taking the metro from Marîtim-Serreria to Colon. The Mercado-Central is dedicated to Spanish fruits and vegetables, oranges, sumptuous strawberries as well as hams of all sizes and all ages, it seems up to 5 years old! Next to it, the La Longa building shows its 15th century architecture. But the highlight is the cathedral built on the foundations of an old mosque with two paintings by Goya. I walked the streets to reach the two ancient gates of the city, Torres de Serranos and Torres de Quart, the only vestiges of the city walls. I returned to my "casa rodante", by metro and on foot. Of course this visit is very superficial.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
¨Pope Francis
img







 The 16,76km on foot GPS
 of the visit of the Ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias,
 from 2020/01/14 to 2020/01/14

Valencia, la ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias

Tuesday, January 14 I explored Ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias, here, built in the drained bed of the Turia river. Five main buildings were drawn by architects of talent schematizing of the animals like Palau of Arts Reina Sofia, the carapace of a beetle, or Museu of Ciències, a skeleton of whale. I traversed the two kilometers of the site from 9:30 to 12:30 to try to take the architectural beauty. There had been necessary to arrive early the morning and to remain late the evening to have a low-angled light. I returned to my truck by the beaches from the south to north, in this week day little people and much of restaurants were closed.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img







 The GPS road tracklog
 from Valencia to Tarragona
 from 2020/01/15 to 2020/01/15

Tarragona

Wednesday January 15, despite the chemical disaster, I was going to Tarragona, here, bivouacking at Forti de la Reina, after a stop at Carrefour Hyper at the entrance to the city. Tomorrow I will visit the historic center of the city.

IMG
Bivouac
img






 The 12,44 km on foot tracklog
 of the Roman city visit of Tarragona
 from 2020/01/16 to 2020/01/16

Thursday, January 16 I traversed the walk of the Roman city with its vestiges of the ramparts, its monumental towers as well as the forum and the amphitheater. I stopped lengthily to visit the cathedral whose frontage presents a Roman and Gothic architecture . The interior is sober contrary to that of Grenade. The small museum exhibits paintings of the 15th century of great beauty. The cloister with the Gothic blind arcades with carved capitals of which one of them presents the burial of a cat escorted by rats! Left around 8:30 with a temperature 8°C I returned to the carpark at the beginning of afternoon under a hot spring sun.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img




 The GPS road tracklog
 from Tarragona to Barcelona, camping El Masnou
 from 2020/01/17 to 2020/01/17

Barcelona

Friday, January 17 the way from Tarragona to Barcelona, Camping El Masnou was carried out by the turnpike along Costa Brava with alas the crossing of Barcelona by C31, broad avenue. The camp-site El Masnou is not extraordinary, but it is the only open in winter and nearest to Barcelona by train.

img
img






 The 12,75 km on foot GPS
 of the visit of Barcelona, Bari Gothic
 from 2020/01/18 ato 2020/01/18

Saturday, January 18 I took the train from El Masnou to Barcelona, Plaça Catalunya to visit Barri Gothic and the Rambla. Alas the Picasso Museum was closed due to restoration. I was back to the El Masnou camp-site at the beginning of afternoon.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img





 The 13,66 km GPS
 of the visit of Barcelona, Sagrada Familia
 du 2020/01/19 au 2020/01/19

Sunday, January 19 by a cold, very windy and rainy weather,  I went back to Barcelona to visit mainly the Sagrada Familia, here, conceived by the very catholic architect Gaudi which remains unfinished in 1926 since his death. The building is impressive outside but even more inside which in spite of the overcast sky without sun is lit by the multicolored stained glasses with dominant blue and red. Beyond the religious fact the building is in the great tradition of the cathedrals in the Middle Ages without however crushing the excessively pious people under the hand of God symbolized by the dark atmosphere for meditation; quite to the contrary the light is present at the glory of the very powerful Lord, the Large Clock and watch maker, according to the name by Voltaire who was undoubtedly not an excessively pious person. At the beginning of afternoon I passed quickly in front of the three houses of the modernistic architects of which Gaudi. Then refrigerated I returned to the Masnou camp-site by train.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img

som

Espagne

eng
-- Du 2020/01/13 au 2020/01/19
-- De Valencia à la frontiére
img







 Le tracé GPS des 17,44 km à pied, hors metro
 du bivouac au metro Marîtim, & du metro-Colon
 à la visite de la vieille-ville et retour,
 du 2020/01/13 au 2020/01/13

Valence, la vieille ville

Lundi 13 janvier je partis à la découverte de la vieille ville de Valencia, ici, à pied en prenant le métro de Marîtim-Serreria à Colon. Le Mercado-Central est dédié aux fruits et légumes de l’Espagne, oranges, fraises somptueuses ainsi qu’aux jambons de toutes tailles et de tous âges, semble-t-il jusqu’à 5 ans ! A côté le bâtiment La Longa montre son architecture du 15e siècle. Mais le point d’orgue est la cathédrale construite sur les fondations d’une ancienne mosquée avec deux peintures de Goya. Je parcourais les rues pour atteindre les deux anciennes portes de la ville, Torres de Serranos et Torres de Quart, seuls vestiges des murailles de la ville. Je retournais à "ma casa rodante", par le métro et à pied. Bien sûr cette visite est très superficielle.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img
¨Pope Francis
img







 Le tracé GPS des 16,76km à pied,
 à la visite de la Ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias,
 du 2020/01/14 au 2020/01/14

Valence, la ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias

Mardi 14 janvier j’explorais la Ciudad de las Artes y de la Ciencias, ici, construite dans le lit asséché de la rivière Turia. Cinq bâtiments principaux furent dessinés par des architectes de talent schématisant des animaux comme le Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia, la carapace d’un scarabée, ou le Museu de les Ciències, un squelette de baleine. Je parcourais les deux kilomètres du site de 9h30 à 12h30 pour tenter de saisir la beauté architecturale. Il eût fallu arriver tôt le matin et rester tard le soir pour avoir une lumière rasante. Je rentrais au camion par les plages du sud au nord, en ce jour de semaine peu de monde et beaucoup de restaurants étaient fermés.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img
img







 Le tracé GPS de la route
 de Valencia à Tarragona
 du 2020/01/15 au 2020/01/15

Tarragona

Mercredi 15 janvier, malgré la catastrophe chimique, j’allais à Tarragona, ici, en bivouaquant au Forti de la Reina, après un arrêt chez Carrefour à l’entrée de la ville. Demain je visiterai le centre historique de la ville.

IMG
Bivouac
img






 Le tracé GPS des 12,44 km
 de la visite de Tarragona
 du 2020/01/16 au 2020/01/16

Jeudi 16 janvier je parcourais la promenade de la ville Romaine avec ses vestiges des remparts, ses tours monumentales ainsi que le Forum et l’amphithéâtre. Je m’arrêtais longuement pour visiter la cathédrale dont la façade présente une architecture romane et gothique. L’intérieure est sobre contrairement à celle de Grenade. Le petit musée expose des peintures du 15e siècle de grande beauté. Le cloître aux arcatures gothiques avec des chapiteaux sculptés dont l’un d’eux présente l’enterrement d’un chat escorté par des rats ! Parti vers 8h30 avec un température de 8°C je rentrais au parking en début d’après-midi sous un chaud soleil printanier.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img
img




 Le tracé GPS de la route
 de Tarragona à Barcelona, camping El Masnou
 du 2020/01/17 au 2020/01/17

Barcelona

Vendredi 17 janvier le trajet de Tarragona à Barcelona, Camping El Masnou s’effectua par l’autoroute à péage le long de la Costa Brava avec hélas la traversée de Barcelone par la C31, large avenue. Le camping El Masnou n’est pas extraordinaire, mais c’est le seul ouvert en hiver et le plus proche de Barcelone en train.

img
img





 Le tracé GPS des 12,75 km
 de la visite de Barcelona, Bari Gothic
 du 2020/01/18 au 2020/01/18

Samedi 18 janvier je pris le train d’El Masnou à Barcelona, Plaça Catalunya pour visiter le Barri Gothic et le Rambla. Hélas le Musée Picasso était fermé pour cause de rénovation. Je fus de retour au camping d’El Masnou en début d’après-midi.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img
img





 Le tracé GPS des 13,66 km
 de la visite de Barcelona, Sagrada Familia
 du 2020/01/19 au 2020/01/19

Dimanche 19 janvier par un temps froid, très venteux et pluvieux je retournais à Barcelone pour visiter principalement la Sagrada Familia, ici, conçue par l’architecte très catholique Gaudi qui reste inachevée depuis sa mort en 1926. L’édifice est impressionnant de l’extérieur mais encore plus de l’intérieur qui malgré le ciel couvert sans soleil est éclairé par les vitraux multicolores à dominante bleue et rouge. Par-delà le fait religieux le bâtiment est dans la grande tradition des cathédrales du moyen-âge sans toutefois écraser les dévots sous la main de Dieu symbolisée par l’atmosphère sombre pour le recueillement ; bien au contraire la lumière est présente à la gloire du Seigneur tout puissant, le Grand Horloger, selon l’appellation de Voltaire qui ne fut assurément pas un dévot. En début d’après-midi je passais rapidement devant les trois maisons des architectes modernistes dont Gaudi. Puis frigorifié je rentrais au camping Masnou en train.

click la photo pour ouvrir la galerie

img