som

France

fr
-- From 2014/07/21 to 2014/07/28
-- En route to Collioure & the border of Spain

The day of the departure had arrived; after the final preparations on Sunday, July 20 I gave up the Thébaïde Villa in Peical without regrets, happy to take the road again.

img





The GPS road tracklog
From Trans to Collioure
From 21/07/2014 to 28/07/2014

Martigues

I arrived at Psi-Azalaï around 9 a.m. The faulty compressor since Friday the 18th /07 during a test of the board to raise the jack, was dismounted. But no possibility for repairing it. It was decided to return it to the supplier, to follow at the end of August. I will make the raid of Transpyrenean without being able to deflate then to reflate the tires when necessary. Other repairs were in particular carried out the installation of two footboards of cabin. I left Martigues around 15:30 to stop at St Mitre- les-remparts on a car park close to the edge of the Pond of Berre. The day was very windy without excessive heat.

img img

Saint-Mitre-les-Remparts

Saint-Mitre-les-remparts preserved the ramparts of the 15th century. The narrow streets of the Middle Ages paved of new lead to the church Saint-Blaise and capped Saint-Mitre of a bell-tower of the 17th century. Balcony, closed with key, through the grid a splendid view on the pond of Pourra. Under the balcony the fountain of the three guns dating back to 1654 feeds the joint launderette. I walked in this marvelous village of Provence alas spoiled by the anarchistic parking of the native cars. Away from the ramparts a windmill, entirely restored, throne on a small square arranged in car park.

img img
img img
img img
img
Windmill

St Blaise

Before the village of Saint-Blaise, the eponymous archeological site accommodates the visitors on a vast car park dominating the pond of Lavalduc, idyllic bivouac. Alas when I presented myself to the entry gate, it was closed. Seeing a car stationed inside, I called to announce my presence. A man came to me and explained me that the sub-prefecture had closed the park due to strong wind for unlimited duration! Outside the enclosure the vault Saint-Blaise dates from the 12th-13th centuries. It is preceded by the foundations of an early Christian church dating from the 5th-8th centuries.

img
Map of the site
img img

Miramas-le-Vieux

Miramas-le-Vieux dominates the pond of Berre, museum city without tourists in this very windy time, it preserved the ruins of a castle of the 13th century and splendid stone-built houses giving it an admirable unit of architecture. Alas there too the autochthones park their vehicles according to their goodwill!

img img
img img
img img
img
Stair-well
img img
img
False "Modigliani"

Cornillon-Confoux

Cornillon-Confoux, a little further on D 70, has a church of Roman style of Provence with a bell-tower out of comb with modern stained glasses by Fédérique Duran. But since the beginning of this tour, all the buildings have closed door. Outside one of the eleven statues of the pregnant Virgin existing in France. The town hall is installed in a castle of the 12th century.

img img
img img
img img

St Chamas

Saint-Chamas at the edge of the pond taking a ferry of Berre has a Flavien bridge, 1st century, preceded by two majestic gates with wind mills animated by the unchained wind.

img img

Then I crossed the Camargue by taking a ferry of Barquarin at Salin of Giraud to join Montpellier where I had appointment at SudCom for installations of my equipment radio ham. I bivouacked close to a retail park on an old section of road. The first part of the day was rich in peaceful visits, I feared the crowd of the tourists. The second part I used the long straight road in Camargue where I will pass again at the return of the Pyrenees.

Montpellier

As of 8 a.m. 30 I was at SudCom. Mr Montariol expected me and greeted me cordially. He undertook at once small work of my list. They were essentially defects related to the materials in particular connections which do not resist the vibrations. I benefitted from it to acquire a powerful WiFi antenna. I left SudCom around eleven hours to make locations in Montpellier which I would visit on my return. I stationed the truck on the car park of Auchan near the stopping of the tram, station Parc Expo; twenty minutes later I was at the St Roch train station at a crow fly from the famous Place of the Comedy. At the Tourist office I took a city plan as well as tram. Then I strolled some time on the city tour proposed by the Green Guide. Indeed the city appeared rich in historical monument, to consume without moderation. I returned to the car park of the station Parc Expo where I arrived around 3 p.m.

img img

Abbey of Valmagne

The purpose of the end of the afternoon consisted in visiting the Abbey of Valmagne close to Pézenas. I like to visit the old places of the catholic worship impresses plenitude and of clean wisdom at rest and to the meditation in these times without moral reference marks and of loss of the historical values of France. It founded at the 12th century and was built out of pink stone. It is marked by the vicissitudes of the French history, wars of religion, without forgetting the French Revolution. The abbey church is flanked of two imposing square towers giving on the narthex decorated with sculptures in contradiction with the Cistercian rule. I rested in the vast nave on standby to intend to resound of the Gregorian chants. As in all the Cistercian abbeys the Virgin with the Child was in majesty in the apse. The gilded stone cloister is illuminated by the light of end of the afternoon. The chapter house is decorated between the posts with marble vases. But unquestionably of all the abbeys of the south of France the wash-hand basin is the most sumptuous part; it is of octagonal shape capped with posts ribbed with a central key. The bell-tower was restored in the year 2000. I was lucky to be alone during my long visit out the chatter and the squawking of tourists. With the agreement of the den mother appointed at ticketing I bivouacked on the car park.

img img
img img
img img
img
img img
img
img img
img img

Béziers

The 9 locks in Fonséranes

A few kilometers from Béziers in the suburbs the site of UNESCO of the 9 locks attract the tourists. This work of the Channel of the South makes it possible the boats to cross uneven of 25 meters on a distance of 312 meters. Seven are still in work. The Channel of the South is due to the eagerness of Pierre Paul Riquet in 1662. From Toulouse to the pond of Thau it is 240 km lengh with 91 locks. Built for 30 m length boats he lives to pass the last barge in 1989. Since placed at the world heritage of UNESCO he is traversed by river tourism.

img

Abbey of Fontcaude

Close to Cazouls the Abbey of Fontcaude was devoted to Sainte Catherine and the order of Prémontré. It was a stage on one of the many straps of the Way of Saint-Jacob de Compostelle. Of course it undergoes the vicissitudes of the history in particular following the heresy of Vaud and of the French Revolution. It remains little of thing of the buildings, the apse of the abbey church arched in half dome, a foundry of bell as well as a oil mill. The museum exhibits fragments of capitals of which one tells the martyr of Holy Catherine.
Still an abbey, with due respect to the faultfinders Catholicism forms integral part of our values. Jack Lang, Minister for the Culture under Mitterrand gave Régis Debray, intellectual of left wind, a request for the introduction of the study of the Religious Facts into the course of the high-school pupils. No panic I have still abbeys to visit before crossing the Spanish border and well of others in Spain.

img img
img img
img
img
img img
img img

Oppidum of Ensérune

Close to Colombiers on a spur dominating the pond of Montady drained in 1247, the tunnel of Malpas and the old Domitian way Oppidum of Ensérune testifies to our ancestors the Gaul people before the Roman conquests. Several civilizations followed one another from 6th to 4th centuries there before our era. Town planning already was very developed with paved streets, sewers, grain silos as well as cisterns and a water tower. The museum gathers objects discovered on the spot, potteries, currencies and sculptures. This visit is highly advisable to understand our civilisationnal values. I bivouacked on a area in the field of the Castle of Lastours.

img img
img img
img img
img img
img img

Château de Lastours

I was accommodated very courteously at the Castle of Lastours. Jean-Michel, a 4x4 certified instructor, made me a presentation in a classroom of the various techniques of the four-wheel vehicles as well as good use of the differential interlocks central, back and front. His matched teaching with the control of his art taught me all the aspects of off-road driving. The field of the 4x4 tracks is the vastest in Europe; the car makers come to develop their last creation there. Thus this Friday Peugeot was present in a part out of the view of journalists and tourists for clarification of the vehicle taking part in the raid of Dakar in January 2015. It was not without apprehension that I began the driving school but Jean-Michel could put to me in confidence by his enlightened councils. During the day I traversed approximately 25 km during five hours. Of course this training was not without error, the experiment is acquired as a practitioner. I finished the day harassed. I returned to the bivouac of the previous day at the entrance of field around 6 p.m.

img img
img

Carcassonne

Not being very long way from Carcassonne I decided to see the famous walls and the Comtal castle restored by Viollet-le-Duc. Without this disputed restoration there would remain nothing. I arrived as of 8:30 to see the morning light on the stained glasses of the Basilica St-Nazaire. They are splendid, but do not show anything in pictures. By waiting of the opening, 10:00 a.m. of the Comtal castle, I strolled in the lanes of the old city. The City of Carcassonne is to the civil and military architecture what the Mount-St-Michel is to the religious architecture, a very profitable trap for tourist. At the opening of the ticketing of the Castle a compacts crowd was massed; the prospect for having to follow it to the queue in the rooms I gave up to seeing it. I become allergic to tourist crowd. After food shopping at the Casino supermarket I took again the road to go to see the last abbey before entering Spain.

img img
img
img img
img img
img img
img img
img

Abbey of Fontfroide

The abbey of Fontfroide close to Narbonne, after the usual mistakes of the history, was saved in extremis in 1908 by the Fayet family who purchased it before an American made it destroy stone by stone then to rebuild it in the USA. The altruistic patronage exists with due respect to the despisers of any hair. Admittedly Fayet were enlightened art lovers. Moreover the restoration testifies with sumptuous stained glasses by Richard Burgstahl little in keeping with the Cistercian rule. I only sauntered during nearly two hours in the buildings dating from 12th and 13th century. To put me in environment I listened while driving the Gregorian chant recorded at the abbey of Fontcaude.

img img
img img
img img
img
img img
img img
img img
img

Collioure

On Sunday, July 27 I discovered Collioure by the road of the cornice; it was 9:30 am. I turned in vain in this coastal village looking for a parking space, nothing for the motor homes. All were complete and moreover they are provided with a horizontal bar with a 2-meter vertical clearance. At the entry a panel gives the direction to a car park of unballasting with a free shuttle; but the car park is not, I paid 15€ for one hour 30 of parking. This time was used to go to Tourist Office and to take two pictures. The city is completely dedicated to tourism of paid vacations. Despite everything I learned that there was a shopping center in Taxo and that a pharmacy was opened in Argeles. Indeed the pharmacy of Trans-in-Provence had not wanted to give me my cocktail of 9 medicines, the deadline of 21 days had not fallen. Alas after a one hour of waiting due to the queue on the pavement of pharmacy the waitress announced to me that it missed four drugs which will be delivered the following day on Monday as from 3 p.m. At the beginning of afternoon I decided to go to a camp-site close to the Intermarket. It was a Sunday… without interest.

img img

som

France

eng
-- De 2014/07/21 à 2014/07/28
-- En route vers Collioure & la frontière espagnole

Le jour du départ était arrivé ; après les derniers préparatifs le dimanche 20 juillet j’abandonnais la Villa Thébaïde du Peical sans regrets, heureux de reprendre la route de nouveau.

img





Le tracé GPS de la route
De Trans à Collioure
du 21/07/2014 au 28/07/2014

Martigues

J’arrivais chez PSI-Azalaï vers 9 heures. Le compresseur défaillant depuis le vendredi 18/07 lors d’un essai de la planche pour rehausser le cric, fut démonté. Mais aucune possibilité de le réparer. Il fut décidé de le renvoyer au fournisseur, à suivre fin août. Je ferai le raid de la Transpyrénéenne sans pouvoir dégonfler puis regonfler les pneus quand nécessaire. Les autres réparations furent exécutées notamment la pose de deux marchepieds de cabine. Je quittais Martigues vers 15h30 pour m’arrêter à St Mitre les Remparts sur un parking proche du bord de l’Etang de Berre. La journée fut très ventée sans chaleur excessive.

img img

Saint-Mitre-les-Remparts

Saint-Mitre-les-Remparts a conservé les remparts du 15e siècle. Les rues étroites du moyen-âge pavées de neufs conduisent à l’église Saint-Blaise et Saint-Mitre coiffée d’un clocher du 17e siècle. Du balcon, fermé à clef, à travers la grille une vue splendide sur l’étang du Pourra. Sous le balcon la fontaine des trois canons datant de 1654 alimente le lavoir mitoyen. Je me promenais dans ce merveilleux village provençal hélas gâté par le stationnement anarchique des voitures des indigènes. A l’écart des remparts un moulin à vent, entièrement restauré, trône sur une placette aménagée en parking.

img img
img img
img img
img
Moulin à vent

St Blaise

Avant le village de Saint-Blaise, le site archéologique éponyme accueille les visiteurs sur un vaste parking dominant le l’étang du Lavalduc, bivouac idyllique. Hélas lorsque je me présentais au portail d’entrée, il était fermé. Voyant une voiture stationnée à l’intérieur, je m’époumonais pour signaler ma présence. Un homme vint à moi et m’expliqua que la sous-préfecture avait fermé le parc pour cause de vent violent pour une durée indéterminée ! A l’extérieur de l’enceinte la chapelle Saint-Blaise date du 12e-13e siècles. Elle est précédée des fondations d’une église paléochrétienne datant des 5e-8e siècles.

img
Carte du site
img img

Miramas le Vieux

Miramas-le-Vieux domine l’étang de Berre, ville musée sans touristes en cette époque très venteuse, elle a conservé les ruines d’un château du 13e siècle et de splendides maisons de pierre lui donnant une admirable unité d’architecture. Hélas là aussi les autochtones parquent leurs véhicules selon leur bon vouloir !

img img
img img
img img
img
Cage d'escallier
img img
img
Faux "Modigliani"

Cornillon-Confoux

Cornillon-Confoux, un peu plus loin sur la D 70, possède une église de style roman provençal avec un clocher en peigne avec des vitraux modernes de Fédérique Duran. Mais depuis le début de ce périple, tous les édifices ont porte close. A l’extérieur l’une des onze statues de la Vierge enceinte existant en France. La mairie est installée dans un château du 12e siècle.

img img
img img
img img

St Chamas

Saint-Chamas au bord de l’étang prenant le bac de Berre possède le pont Flavien, 1er siècle, précédé de deux portes majestueuses sur fond d’éoliennes animées par le vent déchaîné.

img img

Puis je traversais la Camargue en prenant le Bac de Barquarin à Salin de Giraud pour rejoindre Montpellier où j’avais rendez-vous avec SudCom pour des aménagements de mon équipement radioamateur. Je bivouaquais près d’une zone commerciale sur un ancien tronçon de route. La première partie de la journée fut riche en visites paisibles, je craignais la foule des touristes. La deuxième partie j'empruntais les longues lignes droites de Camargue où je repasserai au retour des Pyrénées.

Montpellier

Dès 8 heures 30 j’étais chez SudCom. Monsieur Montariol m’attendait et me salua cordialement. Il entreprit aussitôt les menus travaux de ma liste. Il s’agissait pour l’essentiel de défectuosités liées aux matériels notamment les connexions qui ne résistent pas aux vibrations. J’en profitais pour acquérir une antenne WiFi performante. Je quittais SudCom vers onze heures pour faire des repérages à Montpellier que je visiterais à mon retour. Je stationnais le camion sur le parking d’Auchan à proximité de l’arrêt du tramway, station Parc des Expositions ; vingt minutes plus tard j’étais à la gare St Roch à un jet de pierre de la fameuse Place de la Comédie. A l’Office du Tourisme je pris un plan de la ville ainsi que du tramway. Puis je flânais quelque temps sur le circuit proposé par le Guide Vert. Effectivement la ville m’apparut riche en monuments chargés d’histoire, à consommer sans modération. Je retournais au parking de la station Parc Expo où j’arrivais vers 15 heures.

img img

Abbaye de Valmagne

L’objectif de la fin d’après-midi consistait à visiter l’Abbaye de Valmagne près de Pézenas. J’adore visiter les anciens lieux du culte catholique empreint de plénitude et de sagesse propre au repos et à la méditation en ces temps sans repères moraux et de perte des valeurs historiques de la France. Elle fut fondée au 12e siècle et construite en pierre rose. Elle est marquée par les vicissitudes de l’histoire de France, guerres de religion, sans oublier la Révolution. L’église abbatiale est flanquée de deux tours carrées imposantes donnant sur le narthex décoré de sculptures en contradiction avec la règle de Cîteaux. Je me reposais dans la vaste nef en attente d’entendre résonner des chants grégoriens. Comme dans toutes les abbayes cisterciennes la Vierge à l’Enfant trônait en majesté dans l’abside. Le cloître en pierre dorée est illuminé par la lumière de fin d’après-midi. La salle capitulaire est ornée entre les colonnettes de vases en marbre. Mais indéniablement de toutes les abbayes du sud de la France le lavabo est la partie la plus somptueuse ; il est de forme octogonale coiffé de colonnettes nervurées avec une clé centrale. Le clocher fut restauré en l’an 2000. J’eus la chance d’être seul pendant ma longue visite hors le jacassement et les piaillements des touristes. Avec l’accord de la cheftaine préposée à la billetterie je bivouaquais sur le parking.

img img
img img
img img
img
img img
img
img img
img img

Béziers

Les 9 écluses de Fonséranes

A quelques kilomètres de Béziers dans la banlieue le site de l’UNESCO des 9 écluses attirent les touristes. Cet ouvrage du Canal du Midi permet aux bateaux de franchir une dénivelée de 25 mètres sur une distance de 312 mètres. Sept sont encore en service. Le Canal du Midi est dû à l’acharnement de Pierre Paul Riquet en 1662. De Toulouse à l’étang de Thau il est long de 240 km avec 91 écluses. Construit pour des bateaux de 30 m de long il vit passer la dernière péniche en 1989. Depuis placé au patrimoine mondial de L’UNESCO il est parcouru par le tourisme fluvial.

img

Abbaye de Fontcaude

Près de Cazouls l’Abbaye de Fontcaude était consacrée à Sainte Catherine et à l’ordre de Prémontré. Elle fut une étape sur l’une des nombreuses bretelles du Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Bien sûr elle subit les vicissitudes de l’histoire notamment à la suite de l’hérésie vaudoise et de la Révolution. Il reste peu de chose des bâtiments, l’abside de l’église abbatiale voutée en cul-de-four, une fonderie de cloche ainsi qu’un moulin à huile. Le musée expose des fragments de chapiteaux dont l’un raconte le martyr de Sainte Catherine.
Encore une abbaye, n’en déplaise aux esprits chagrins le catholicisme fait partie intégrante de nos valeurs. Jack Lang, ministre de la Culture sous Mitterrand missionna Régis Debray, intellectuel de gauche, pour l’introduction de l’étude des Faits Religieux dans le cursus des lycéens. Pas de panique j’ai encore des abbayes à visiter avant de franchir la frontière espagnole et bien d’autres en Espagne.

img img
img img
img
img
img img
img img

Oppidum d'Ensérune

Près de Colombiers sur un éperon dominant l’étang de Montady asséché en 1247, le tunnel du Malpas et l’ancienne voie Domitienne l’Oppidum d’Ensérune témoigne de nos ancêtres les Gaulois d’avant les conquêtes romaines. Plusieurs civilisations s’y sont succédé du 6e au 4e siècles avant notre ère. L’urbanisme était déjà très développé avec des rues pavées, des égouts, des silos à grains ainsi que des citernes et un château d’eau. Le musée regroupe les objets découverts sur place, poteries, monnaies et sculptures. Cette visite est hautement recommandable pour comprendre nos valeurs civilisationnelles. Je bivouaquais sur une aire dans le Domaine du Château de Lastours.

img img
img img
img img
img img
img img

Château de Lastours

Je fus accueilli très courtoisement au Château de Lastours. Jean-Michel, le moniteur certifié 4x4, me fit une présentation en salle de cours des différentes techniques des véhicules 4x4 ainsi que du bon usage du blocage des différentiels central, arrière et avant. Son sens pédagogique assorti de la maitrise de son art m’enseigna tous les aspects de la conduite hors-piste. Le domaine des pistes 4x4 est le plus vaste d’Europe ; les constructeurs de voiture viennent y mettre au point leur dernière création. Ainsi ce vendredi Peugeot était présent dans une partie hors la vue des journalistes et des touristes pour la mise au point du véhicule participant au raid du Dakar. Ce ne fut pas sans appréhension que je commençais l’école de conduite mais Jean-Michel sut me mettre en confiance par ses conseils éclairés. Pendant la journée je parcourus environ 25 km en plus de cinq heures de conduite. Bien sûr cet apprentissage ne fut pas sans erreur, l’expérience s’acquière en pratiquant. Je terminais la journée harassé. Je retournais au bivouac de la veille à l’entrée du domaine vers 18 heures.

img img
img

Carcassonne

N’étant pas très éloigné de Carcassonne je décidais de voir les fameuses murailles et le château Comtal restauré par Viollet-Le-Duc. Sans cette restauration contestée il ne resterait rien. J’arrivais dès 8h30 pour voir la lumière sur les vitraux de la Basilique St-Nazaire. Ils sont magnifiques, mais ne rendent rien en photos. Dans l’attente de l’ouverture, 10:00, du château Comtal, je flânais dans les ruelles de la vieille ville. La Cité de Carcassonne est à l’architecture civile et militaire ce que le Mont-St-Michel est à l’architecture religieuse, un très rentable piège à touriste. A l’ouverture de la billetterie du Château une foule compacte était massée ; à la perspective de devoir la suivre à la queue-le-leu dans les salles je renonçais à le voir. Je deviens allergique à la foule touristique. Après le shoping alimentaire au Casino du coin je repris la route pour aller voir la dernière abbaye avant d’entrer en Espagne.

img img
img
img img
img img
img img
img img
img

Abbaye de Fontfroide

L’abbaye de Fontfroide près de Narbonne, après les habituels errements de l’histoire, fut sauvée in extrémis en 1908 par la famille Fayet qui la racheta avant qu’un américain ne la fit détruire pierre par pierre puis reconstruire aux USA. Le mécénat altruiste existe n’en déplaise aux contempteurs de tout poil. Certes les Fayet étaient des amateurs d’art éclairés. D’ailleurs la restauration en témoigne avec des vitraux somptueux de Richard Burgstahl peu en rapport avec la règle de l’ordre de Cîteaux. Je déambulais seul pendant près de deux heures dans les bâtiments datant du 12e et 13e siècle. Pour me mettre dans l’ambiance j’écoutais en roulant le Chant Grégorien des Gaules du Sud enregistré à l’abbaye de Fontcaude.

img img
img img
img img
img
img img
img img
img img
img

Collioure

Le dimanche 27 juillet je découvrais Collioure par la route de la corniche, il était 9:30. Je tournais en vain dans ce village côtier à la recherche d’une place de parking, rien pour les camping-cars. Tous étaient complets et de plus ils sont munis d’une barre horizontale à une hauteur de 2 mètres. A l’entrée un panneau donne la direction d’un parking de délestage avec une navette gratuite ; mais le parking ne l’est pas, je payais 15€ pour une heure 30 de stationnement. Ce temps fut utilisé à aller au Tourist Office et à prendre deux photos. La ville est totalement dédiée au tourisme des congés payés. Malgré tout j’appris qu’il y avait un Intermarché à Taxo et qu’une pharmacie était ouverte à Argeles. En effet la pharmacie de Trans-en-Provence n’avait pas voulu me donner mon cocktail de 9 médicaments, le délai de 21 jours n’était pas échu. Hélas après une attente d’une heure eu égard à la queue sur le trottoir de la pharmacie la serveuse m’annonça qu’il manquait quatre médicaments qui me seront délivrés le lendemain lundi à partir de 15 heures. En début d’après-midi je décidais de me poser dans un camping proche de l’Intermarché. Ce fut un dimanche … sans intérêt.

img img