som

France

fr
-- From 2014/08/12 to 2014/08/dd
-- From St Jean to ?
img





The GPS road tracklog
From St Jean to Tarascon-sur-Ariège
From 2014/08/12 to 2014/08/17

Saint Jean Pied de Port

Leaving the Transpyrenean tour, I arrived at St Jean Pied de Port on Tuesday, August 12 around 14:00 to do shopping supply of food and diesel fuel. Then I took again the road to bivouac at the Vault St Saver in the clouds and in a fine rain.

Lac de Fabrèges

The rain fell all the night. I always left the bivouac in the rain by an outside temperature of 8°C. The small secondary roads of the French Pyrenees curved in rolling mountains in forests, clouds and in the rain. The sun appeared timidly around 16:00 at the edge of the Lake Fabrèges and the temperature climbed up to 21°C. The difference in climate between the French Pyrenees and the Spanish Pyrenees is proven. I understand that the slope of the French Pyrenees stops the bad weather! I wanted to go again to Spain.

img img
Mountains about 9h00 ! Lake of Fabrèges

Pass of l'Aubisque, 1709m

At the edge of the Lake Fabrèges at 8:00 am the day was announced sunny. I decided to make the walk to see the Circus of Gavarnie. But before I was to cross the Pass of Aubisque. On the way I admired the Peak of Ger, to see the Picture in the Gallery above

img img
Panorama Sculpture, at the glory of the Tour de France

Cirque de Gavarnie, 1676m

The walk of approach of the Circus of Gavarnie is 2 hours return. In this summer period many were the families which undertook the excursion, but also many were the halts in edge of track. The day being beautiful little imported the duration of walk to them, it was necessary to go there. While arriving the spectacle is dramatic. What the mountain is beautiful, as the poet, Jean Ferrat said. The bottom of the circus is at 1676m high and the tops of the wall at approximately 3000m high. Provided with my sticks of walk I made the outward journey and the return of the ca rpark, close to the Statue of the Virgin, in announced time. Admittedly at the return I had the heavy legs! I wished to bring me closer to La-Mongie. I found a spot of bivouac at Super-Barèges, famous ski station.

img

Pic du Midi

The day of August 15th was a strong moment. Not without apprehension I tookn the cable car to reach the Peak of the South. Of course I carried a frequency meter which I consulted during the rise. On arrival at 2877m it posted a pulse of 71 by going and 66 at sited rest. I was reassured on my health and the capacities of my heart with the  necrosis left ventricle. The Peak was in the clouds; no visibility on the imposing panorama announced by all literatures. No problem my target was reached, but I persevered to test higher in the Alps, to follow. I wanted to profit to be in a city to publish the last page of the tour in Spain. Alas the Wi-Fi connection at the Tourist Office was needy and limited in time and volume. The employee indicated the restaurant Le Schuss with an effective connection; I decided to lunch there by ensuring that the connection was operational. I ordered my lunch then I started my laptop, nothing! Then the waiter by bringing my dish told me without shame, yes connection does not work well, euphemism. By paying at the counter I say to the owner my way of thinking. France remains poor in hot spots.

img img
Up Arrival
img
In the clouds
img img
The origin Projection on the lift
img img
Model Down

Bivouac, Louron river

Piqued I begun the road again passing the Pass of Aspin to visit the churches in the valley of Louron equipped with retables of the 17th century; alas they were closed, opened on go. I found a nice bivouac at the edge of Louron river where fishermen launched their line.

img
Panorama from the pass of Aspin
img
 Louron river

Saint Béat

On Friday, August 16 I made three visits. Saint Béat is famous for three reasons. Its white marble careers are known since the Romans and were used for the basins and the statues of the park of Versailles. It is an old fortified town called the bolt of the Vall of Aran towards Gascogne and finally and not least it is the birthplace of the Marshal Gallieni . It is built in arc of a circle at the bottom of cliff and at the edge of the Garonne river. Its church of Romanesque style dates from the 11th century.

img
Marbel of Saint-Béat !
img img
Garonne river
img img
Castel and church
img img
Romanesque Church

Saint Bertrand de Comminges

Saint Bernard de Comminges built on a rock piton dominates the basin of the Garonne river the Sainte-Marie cathedral built in two periods has a Romanesque part, the porch and the narthex, and a later Gothic part the nave and the chorus of the canons. The cloister opens on the countryside is also in two styles with the the famous pillar of the four evangelists. The old chapter house exposes liturgical objects and especially two tapestries of Tournai. The woodworks of the stalls of the canons are of Renaissance style.

img img
Cathedral Sainte-Marie
img img
Narthex, Romanesque style Nave, Gothic style
img img
Cloître
img img
Tapestries of Tournai, 16e siècle
img img
Stalls of chanoines

Valcabère, Basilique Saint Just

A little further the village from Valcabrère is honoured by the basilica Saint-Just, dating from the 11th and 12th century, built with materials of re-employment coming from an old Roman city. In the late afternoon I establish my bivouac at the pass of Portet d'Aspet.

img img
Romanesque basilica
img img

Audressein

On Sunday, August 17 I moved towards Tarascon on Ariège to find a camp-site with a WiFi connection. On the way by passes I stopped at Audressein to see as strange as splendid Romanesque church with frescos of the 15th century. On the road of St Jacques de Compostel it is registered at the World Heritage of Humanity. The road of the passes curves by mount and valleys; very narrow it requires a great vigilance at the time of the crossings. My last halt before Tarascon was a stage of pilgrimage at Auzat which was a aluminum factory of Pechiney Group, today alas disappeared. The camp-site of the Pre Lombard is at the edge of a river.

img img
img img
img img
img
Fresco

som

France

eng
-- De 2014/08/12 à 2014/08/jj
-- De St Jean Pied de Port ?
img





Le tracé GPS de la route
De St Jean Pied de Port à Tarascon-sur-Ariège
du 2014/08/12 au 2014/08/17

Saint Jean Pied de Port

Quittant le circuit de la Transpyrénéenne, j’arrivais à St Jean Pied de Port le mardi 12 août vers 14h00 pour faire de l’approvisionnement de nourriture et de gazole. Puis je repris la route pour bivouaquer à la Chapelle St Sauveur dans les nuages et sous une pluie fine.

Lac de Fabrèges

La pluie tomba toute la nuit. Je quittais le bivouac toujours sous la pluie par une température extérieure de 8°C. Les petites routes départementales des Pyrénées françaises serpentaient en montagnes russes dans les forêts, les nuages et sous la pluie. Le soleil apparut timidement vers 16h00 au bord du Lac de Fabrèges et la température grimpa à 21°C. La différence de climat entre les Pyrénées françaises et les Pyrénées espagnoles est avérée. Je comprends que le versant des Pyrénées françaises arrête le mauvais temps ! J’avais envie de retourner en Espagne. A la fromagerie d'Accous j'achetais un fromage de pur lait cru de brebis fait par le berger ; il s'avéra succulent avec une saveur subtile.

img img
La montagne vers 9h00 ! Lac de Fabrèges

Col de l'Aubisque, 1709m

Au bord du Lac de Fabrèges à 8h00 la journée s’annonça ensoleillée. Je décidais de faire la marche pour voir le Cirque de Gavarnie. Mais avant je devais franchir le Col de L’Aubisque. En route j’admirais le Pic de Ger, voir la Galerie de Photos.

img img
Panorama Sculpture, à la gloire du Tour de France

Cirque de Gavarnie, 1676m

La marche d’approche du Cirque de Gavarnie est de 2 heures retour. En cette période estivale nombreuses étaient les familles qui entreprenaient la randonnée, mais aussi nombreuses étaient les haltes en bord de piste. La journée étant belle peu leur importait la durée de la marche, il fallait y aller. En arrivant le spectacle est grandiose. Que la montagne est belle, dit le poète, Jean Ferrat. Le fond du cirque est à 1676m et les sommets de la muraille à environ 3000m. Muni de mes bâtons de marche je fis l’aller et le retour du parking, près de la Statue de la Vierge, dans le temps annoncé. Certes au retour j’avais les jambes lourdes ! Je souhaitais me rapprocher de La-Mongie. Je trouvais un lieu de bivouac à Super-Barèges, station de ski réputée.

img

Pic du Midi

La journée du 15 août fut un moment fort. Non sans appréhension je pris le téléphérique pour atteindre le Pic du Midi. Bien sûr je portais un fréquencemètre que je consultais pendant la montée. A l’arrivée à 2877m il affichait un pouls de 71 en marchant et de 66 au repos assis. J’étais rassuré sur ma santé et les capacités de mon cœur au ventricule gauche nécrosé. Le Pic était dans les nuages ; aucune visibilité sur le panorama annoncé grandiose par toutes les littératures. Pas grave mon objectif était atteint, mais je persévérai pour tester plus haut dans les Alpes, à suivre. Je voulais profiter d’être dans une ville pour publier la dernière page du périple en Espagne. Hélas la connexion WiFi de l’Office du Tourisme était besogneuse et limitée en temps et en volume. Le préposé m’indiqua le restaurant Le Schuss avec une connexion efficace ; je décidais d’y déjeuner en m’assurant que la connexion était opérationnelle. Je commandais mon déjeuner puis je démarrais mon laptop, rien ! Alors le serveur en m’apportant mon plat me dit sans vergogne, oui la connexion ne marche pas bien, euphémisme. En payant au comptoir je dis au patron ma façon de penser. La France reste indigente en hot spots.

img img
La montée L'arrivée
img
Dans les nuages
img img
L'origine Projection sur la coupole de l'ascenseur
img img
Maquette La descente

Bivouac, Le Louron

Dépité je repris la route passant le Col d’Aspin pour visiter les églises de la vallée du Louron dotées de retables du 17e siècle ; hélas elles étaient fermées, ouvertes sur rendez-vous. Je trouvais un bivouac sympathique au bord du Louron où des pêcheurs lançaient leur ligne.

img
Panorama du Col d'Aspin
img
Au bord du Louron

Saint Béat

Le vendredi 16 août je fis trois visites. Saint Béat est réputée pour trois raisons. Ses carrières de marbre blanc sont connues depuis les romains et furent utilisées pour les bassins et les statues du parc de Versailles. Elle est une ancienne place forte appelée le verrou du Val d’Aran vers la Gascogne et enfin et non le moindre c’est la ville natale du Maréchal Gallieni. Elle est construite en arc de cercle au pied de la falaise et au bord de la Garonne. Son église de style roman date du 11e siècle.

img
Le marbre de Saint-Béat !
img img
La Garonne
img img
Le château et l'église
img img
Eglise romane

Saint Bertrand de Comminges

Saint Bernard de Comminges construite sur un piton rocheux domine le bassin de la Garonne La cathédrale Sainte-Marie bâtie en deux périodes a une partie romane, le porche et le narthex, et une partie gothique plus tardive la nef et le chœur des chanoines. Le cloître s’ouvre sur la campagne est lui aussi en deux styles avec le célèbre pilier des quatre évangélistes. L’ancienne salle capitulaire expose des objets liturgiques et surtout deux tapisseries de Tournai. Les boiseries des stalles des chanoines sont de style renaissance.

img img
Cathédrale Sainte-Marie
img img
Narthex, style Roman Nef, style Gothique
img img
Cloître
img img
Tapisserie de Tournai, 16e siècle
img img
Stalles des chanoines

Valcabère, Basilique Saint Just

Un peu plus loin le village de Valcabrère est honoré par la basilique Saint-Just, datant du 11e et 12e siècle, édifiée avec des matériaux de remploi provenant d’une ancienne cité romaine. Enfin d’après-midi j’établis mon bivouac au col du Portet d’Aspet.

img img
Basilique romane
img img

Audressein

Le dimanche 17 août je me dirigeais vers Tarascon sur Ariège pour trouver un camping avec une connexion WiFi. En route par les cols je m’arrêtais à Audressein pour voir une aussi étrange que splendide église romane avec des fresques du 15e siècle. Sur la route de St Jacques de Compostel elle est inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité. La route des cols serpente par mont et vaut ; très étroite elle requiert une grande vigilance lors des croissements. Ma dernière halte avant Tarascon fut une étape de pèlerinage à Auzat qui fut une usine d’aluminim du Groupe Péchiney, aujourd’hui hélas disparu. Le camping du Pré Lombard est au bord de l’eau.

img img
img img
img img
img
Fresque d'une voute