som

France

fr
-- From 2014/03/07 to 2014/03/12
-- Excursion in the Haut Var, France
img





The GPS road tracklog
From Draguignan to Guillaumes through the Gorges de Daluis,  Digne-les-Bains through the Gorges du Verdon
Back to Draguignan
du 07/03/2014 au 12/03/2014

I had decided to visit the Gorges of the Verdon & Daluis to run in my truck. I went on March 6th by the secondary road D 225 through the pretty villages of Calas and Bargemon but shortly after an indicator ignited on the dashboard. I looked at the handbook which advised to go to rather in a qualified garage. The only Mercedes garage is in Roquebrune-sur-Argens. I presented myself to it at the end of the morning. After recording at the reception desk, I expected the reopening of the workshops to meet the shop foreman to whom I had presented my vehicle at the beginning of November 2013. He greeted me cordially and dealt with the problem. My brother picked up me in the afternoon.

The next morning a phone call around 10 a.m. informed me that my vehicle was at my disposal. My sister-in-law, Marie-Lou, lead me to the Mercedes garage at Roquebrune where we arrived at the opening around 2 p.m. The truck was ready and the shop foreman explained me that the cause of the breakdown was a defective sensor of the crankshaft. Of course the breakdown service was dealt with by the guarantee. Moreover I bought nuts of safety theft protection device (!) for the rims. I took the road around 3:15 p.m. in the direction of Fayence then of Mons on D 563. I stopped around 4:30 p.m. on a waste ground at the crossroads of D 53 to take my marks for the first trip with my new truck. The day was brilliant with a temperature of +20°C. Alas not having tools I was not able to loosen the nuts guard of the threading of limps of antenna tuner to fix the HF antenna in order to send the position report of the bivouac, to see tomorrow.

img

After having installed various materials in the cabin of Mercedes I left the bivouac around 10:30 a.m. I drove on D 563 to the crossroads of D 6085 at the Logis du Pin then by D 2211 up to St Auban. In this season roads are still prohibited due to closed pass due to snowing up. By small secondary roads I reached D 4202 driving to Entrevaux already visited before. I stopped for a picture. Then at the crossroads of the Pont de Geydan I took D 902 to visit the Gorges de Daluis. I established my bivouac at the edge of the Var river around 4:30 p.m. on the Roberts' rest area at 2 km southwards of Guillaumes.

img
img img
Lunch pause & selfie

The Gorges de Daluis

img
The GPS tracklog, IGN map at 1:100k
img
Bivouac
img
Roadeyescams on the windscreen The Daluis' Gorges

I had plan to go to Barcelonnette, alas the GPS announced to me that the road was closed and proposed to me a diversion. I persisted by going to Guillaumes at five kilometers. The borough was an outpost of the kingdom of France before the joining of Savoy in 1760. I questioned a native who assure me that the road was closed. A plan must be adaptive, I gave up Barcelonnette and I choose outward journey to Digne-les Bains to see again the museum devoted to Alexandra David-Néel. I traversed the Daluis' Gorges again.

img img
img img
Guillaumes

After the lunch pause close to the Vault of Notre-Dame de Valvert on the N 202 I arrived at the Alexandra David-Néel's Center of Conference around 2:30 p.m.. The guided tour was started, but the guide woman was not on the level. Moreover the museum had been emptied of objects transferred either to the Museum de l'Homme or to the Guimet Museum. No-photo. I was disappointed compared to my visit with my mother there +20 years ago. On the other hand I saw again Marie-Madeleine Péronnet, secretary of Alexandra, 84 years old and very strong. On the road little before Digne I had noticed a car park for my bivouac.

img img
img img
N.-D. de Valvert

On Monday, March 10 by a overcast weather I traversed the N 85 by going along the Provence railway line then starting from Barrême the Napoleon Road. Little before Castellane I forked on D 955 curving along the Lake Castillon by the Clue de Vergons. I lunched again close to the Vault of NR.- D.-de-Valvert. Then I visited Castellane. The city is dominated by the Rock, 184 meters high, crowned by the eponymous vault dating back to 1703. I gave up traversing the way of interpretation. On the other hand the old city is charming with its decorated small squares of fountains. But in this low season animation was worthless and much of closed shops. I bivouacked northwards of Jabron saving the visit of the Gorges of the Verdon for the following day.

img img
img
Castellane

The Gorges du Verdon

img
The GPS tracklog, IGN map at 1:100k

The target  of the following day was to drive on the left bank of the Verdon by the Sublime Cornice. Without any doubt it is, it even under a overcast sun in a freezing cold. The roadside was still snow-covered. It is only around midday that the temperature softens in spite of a prickly wind. At the time of one of my picture stops a man came to meet my with a blue Mercedes "G" and tells me that he had seen me passing in front of at his house and decided to catch up with me to see my vehicle. He tells me that him and his brother have Mercedes "G" and are crazy about it. We discussed then I gave him my business card with my Internet address. Of course I had the break to lunch in front of the sumptuous view of the Gorges of the Verdon.

img img
img img
The Gorges du Verdon

I took again the road to go to rest me at Bauduen at the edge of the lake de Sainte Croix whose paved streets are bordered of picturesque houses and alleys with evocative names. I had noticed on D 957 a site of bivouac that I took on my return towards Moustier.

img img
img img
The village of Bauduen

The last day of this small trip for taking in touch with my new truck was devoted to the tour around the Lake Sainte Croix to Moustiers-Ste.-Marie with a lunch stop at Ste Croix du Verdon. As Bauduen the village is composed of stone-built houses bordering by sloping streets. It is now at the edge of the lake whose beach accommodates the summer tourists. The return to Draguignan by D 49 was carried out under a swing rain starting at Vérignon.

img img
img
Ste Croix du Verdon

som

France

eng
-- De 2014/03/07 à 2014/03/12
-- Excursion dans le Haut Var
img





Le tracé GPS de la route
De Draguignan à Guillaumes par les Gorges de Daluis,  Digne-les-Bains par les Gorges du Verdon &
retour à Draguignan
du 07/03/2014 au 12/03/2014

J’avais décidé de visiter les Gorges du Verdon & de Daluis pour roder le camion. Je partis le 6 mars par la départementale D 225 passant par les jolis villages de Callas et Bargemon mais peu après un voyant s’alluma au tableau de bord. Je consultais le manuel qui conseillait d’aller au plutôt dans un garage qualifié. Le seul garage Mercedes est à Roquebrune sur Argens. Je m’y présentais en fin de matinée. Après enregistrement à l’accueil, j’attendais la réouverture des ateliers pour rencontrer le chef d’atelier à qui j’avais présenté mon véhicule début novembre 2013. Il me salua chaleureusement et prit en charge le problème. Mon frère vint me chercher dans l’après-midi.

Le lendemain matin un appel téléphonique vers 10 heures m’informa que mon véhicule était à ma disposition. Ma belle-sœur, Marie-Lou, me conduit au garage Mercedes de Roquebrune où nous arrivâmes à l’ouverture vers 14 heures. Le camion était prêt et le chef d’atelier m’expliqua que la cause de la panne était un capteur défectueux du vilebrequin. Bien sûr le dépannage fut pris en charge par la garantie. De plus j’achetais des écrous de sécurité antivol (!) pour les jantes. Je pris la route vers 15h15 en direction de Fayence puis de Mons sur la D 563. Je m’arrêtais vers 16h30 sur un terrain vague au carrefour de la D 53 pour prendre mes marques pour le premier voyage dans ce nouveau camion. La journée était radieuse avec une température de +20°C. Hélas n’ayant pas d’outillage je ne fus en mesure de desserrer les écrous protecteur du filetage de la boite d’accord pour fixer l’antenne HF afin d’émettre le position report du bivouac, à voir demain.

img

Après avoir installé divers matériels dans la cabine du Mercedes Je quittais le bivouac vers 10h30. Je roulais sur la D 563 jusqu’au carrefour de la D 6085 au Logis du Pin puis par la D 2211 jusqu’à St Auban. En cette saison les routes sont encore interdites eu égard à des cols fermés pour cause d’enneigement. Par des petites routes départementales j’atteignis la D 4202 menant à Entrevaux déjà visité antérieurement. Je m’arrêtais pour une photo. Ensuite au carrefour du Pont de Geydan je pris la D 902 pour visiter les Gorges de Daluis. J’établis mon bivouac au bord du Var vers 16h30 sur l’aire de repos des Roberts à 2 km au sud de Guillaumes.

img
img img
Pause déjeuner & selfie

Les Gorges de Daluis

img
La trace GPS, carte IGN au 1:100k
img
Bivouac
img
Roadeyescams on the windscreen Daluis' Gorges

J’avais projeté d’aller à Barcelonnette, hélas le GPS des villes m’annonça que la route était fermée et me proposa une déviation. Je persistais en allant à Guillaumes à cinq kilomètres. Le bourg fut un avant-poste du royaume de France avant le rattachement de la Savoie en 1760. J’interrogeais un indigène qui me confirma que la route était fermée. Un plan doit être adaptatif, je renonçais à Barcelonnette et je choisis d’aller à Digne-les-Bains pour revoir le musée consacré à Alexandra David-Néel. Je parcourais de nouveau les Gorges du Daluis.

img img
img img
Guillaumes

Après la pause déjeuner près de la Chapelle Notre-Dame de Valvert sur la N 202 j’arrivais au Centre de Conférence Alexandra David-Néel vers 14h30. La visite guidée était commencée, mais la guide n’était au niveau. De plus le musée avait été vidé des objets transférés soit au Musée de l’Homme soit au Musée Guimet. No-photo. Je fus déçu par rapport à ma visite avec ma mère, il y +20 ans. Par contre je revis Marie-Madeleine Péronnet, secrétaire d’Alexandra, âgée de 84 ans et fort alerte. Sur la route peu avant Digne j’avais remarqué un parking pour mon bivouac.

img img
img img
N.-D. de Valvert

Le lundi 10 mars par un temps couvert je parcourais la N 85 en longeant la ligne de chemin de fer de Provence puis à partir de Barrême la Route Napoléon. Peu avant Castellane je bifurquais sur la D 955 serpentant le long du Lac de Castillon par la Clue de Vergons. Je déjeunais de nouveau près de la Chapelle de N.-D.-de-Valvert. Puis je visitais Castellane. La ville est dominée par le Roc, 184 mètres de haut, couronné par la chapelle éponyme datant de 1703. Je renonçais à parcourir le chemin d’interprétation. Par contre la vieille ville est charmante avec ses placettes agrémentées de fontaines. Mais en cette basse saison l’animation était nulle et beaucoup de boutiques fermées. Je bivouaquais au nord de Jabron réservant la visite des Gorges du Verdon pour le lendemain.

img img
img
Castellane

Les Gorges du Verdon

img
La trace GPS, carte IGN au 1:100k

L’objectif de la journée était de parcourir la rive gauche du Verdon par la Corniche Sublime. Sans aucun doute elle l’est même sous un soleil voilé dans un froid glacial, le bord de la route était encore enneigé. Ce n’est que vers midi que la température s’adoucit malgré un vent piquant. Lors d’un de mes arrêts photos un homme vint à ma rencontre sortant d’un Mercedes G de couleur bleue et me dit qu’il m’avait vu passer devant chez lui et décida de me rattraper pour voir mon véhicule. Il me dit que lui et son frère possèdent des Mercedes G et en sont fanas. Nous discutâmes boutique puis je lui remis ma carte de visite avec mes coordonnées Internet. Bien sûr je fis la pause déjeuner devant le spectacle somptueux des Gorges du Verdon.

img img
img img
Les Gorges du Verdon

Je repris la route pour aller me reposer à Bauduen au bord du lac de Sainte Croix dont les rues pavées sont bordées de maisons pittoresques et de venelles aux noms évocateurs. J’avais remarqué sur la D 957 un emplacement de bivouac que je pris à mon retour vers Moustier.

img img
img img
Le village de Bauduen

Le dernier jour de ce court voyage de prise de contact avec mon nouveau camion fut consacré au circuit autour du Lac Sainte-Croix par Moustiers-Ste-Marie avec un arrêt déjeuner à Sainte Croix du Verdon. Comme Bauduen le village est composé de maisons en pierre bordant des rues en pente. Il est maintenant au bord du lac dont la plage accueille les estivants en été. Le retour à Draguignan par la D 49 s’effectua sous une pluie battante à partir de Vérignon.

img img
img
Ste Croix du Verdon