som

France

fr
-- From 2014/05/07 to 2014/05/12
-- Excursion dans le massif des Maures, France
img





The GPS road tracklog
From Trans-en-Provence, tour in the Massif des Maures
Back to Trans-en-Provence
du 07/03/2014 au 12/03/2014

Weary of expect the signature of the sale contract of my house at Peical, I left on Monday, April 28 in excursion in the Massif des Maures. I had bought the Green Guide book of the Riviera I were going to follow the roads of summits and passes. The day was sunny. After Pierrefeu-of-Var I stopped at the Estate of Sigalous which organized off-road training courses. The lady met informed that it did not make any more. On the other hand she gave me the address of the Château de Lastours as well as of a certified instructor. On the way I noted that tourists started to furrow the roads; consequently I avoided Hyères that I had time to visit in low season being at a stone throw from Peical. I thus dawdled on the road. I decided a bivouac above Bormes-les-Mimosas/Lavandou on a waste ground on D 98.

img img
Bivouac & selfie

The following day I explored the littoral. It was a great disappointment; the seaside was concreted hotels, more or less luxurious residences. Admittedly the roadway was remarkably bituminized to accommodate the summer tourists… In a word, to circulate there is nothing to see. In Cogolin then Grimaud I took secondary roads for the summit & pass road up to Gonfaron. Little before I was delayed at the Village of the Tortoises. An initiatory tour furrows the park where are stretched out more than 2,500 tortoises of the three species, tortoises of Hermann, cestuses & Greek tortoises. In addition various species of the world are represented. Highly advisable visit which is not solely intended to kids.

img img
img img

A detour by a narrow secondary road led me to the priory of Notre-Dame of the Angels entirely restored in the 19th century. Alas the iconoclasts of technology built behind a gigantic hertzian relay. A headland offers a superb view on the surrounding mountains, the sea, the islands of Hyères etc.

img img
img
N.-D.-des-Anges

On April 30th I strolled on the pass road D 39 & D 14. Alas herds of amateur cyclists travelling, doubling by bravado made traffic very dangerous on these small rolling mountain roads. They wasted my pleasure by obliging me with a great vigilance going until me to stop by safety. Sign posts require to share the road! Very disappointed I returned by D 98 to Cogolin, then Ste. Maxime where I had hard time during nearly one hour to catch D 25 to go back to Trans-en-Provence. This last day taught me never to go on the Riviera during the summer period of holidays.

img img
img
Roadeyescams on the windscreen Massif des Maures

som

France

eng
-- De 2014/05/07 à 2014/05/12
-- Excursion dans le massif des Maures
img





Le tracé GPS de la route
De Trans-en-Provence, circuit dans le Massif des Maures
A Trans-en-Provence
du 07/03/2014 au 12/03/2014

Las d’attendre la signature de l’acte de vente de la maison du Peical, je partais le lundi 28 avril en excursion dans le Massif des Maures. J’avais acheté le Guide Vert de la Côte d’Azur j’allais suivre les routes des sommets et des cols. La journée était radieuse. Après Pierrefeu-du-Var je m’arrêtais au Domaine de Sigalous qui organisait des stages off-road. La personne rencontrée n’informa qu’il n’en faisait plus. Par contre elle me donna les coordonnées du Château de Lastours ainsi que du moniteur agréé. En route je constatais que des touristes commençaient à sillonner les routes ; en conséquence j’évitais Hyères que j’avais le temps de visiter en basse saison étant à un jet de pierre du Peical. Je musardais donc sur la route. Je décidais de bivouac au-dessus de Bormes-les-Mimosas / Le Lavandou sur un terrain vague de la D 98.

img img
Bivouac & selfie

Le lendemain j’explorais le littoral. Ce fut une grande déception ; le bord de mer était bétonné d’hôtels, de résidences plus ou moins luxueuses. Certes la chaussée était remarquablement bitumée pour accueillir les estivants... En un mot, circuler il n’y a rien à voir. A Cogolin puis Grimaud je pris les routes départementales pour la route des sommets jusqu’à Gonfaron. Peu avant je m’attardais au Village des Tortues. Un circuit initiatique sillonne le parc où se prélassent plus de 2.500 tortues des trois espèces, tortues d’Hermann, cistudes & tortues grecques. Par ailleurs différentes espèces du monde sont représentées. Visite hautement recommandable qui n’est pas uniquement destinée aux enfants.

img img
img img

Un détour par une départementale étroite me conduisit au prieuré de Notre-Dame des Anges entièrement restauré au 19e siècle. Hélas les iconoclastes de la technologie ont construit derrière un gigantesque relais hertzien. Un promontoire offre une vue superbe sur les montagnes environnantes, la mer, les îles d’Hyères etc.

img img
img
N.-D.-des-Anges

Le 30 avril je flânais sur la route des cols D 39 & D 14. Hélas des troupeaux de cyclistes amateurs roulants de front, se doublant par bravade rendaient la circulation dangereuse sur ces petites routes en montagnes russes. Ils gâchèrent mon plaisir en m’obligeant à une grande vigilance allant jusqu’à m’arrêter par sécurité. Des panneaux demandent de partager la route ! Très dépité je rentrais par la D 98 jusqu’à Cogolin, puis Ste Maxime où je galérais pendant près d’une heure pour attraper la D 25 pour rentrer à Trans-en-Provence. Ce dernier jour m’enseigna de ne jamais aller sur la Côte d’Azur pendant la période estivale des congés payés.

img img
img
Roadeyescams on the windscreen Massif des Maures