som

France

fr
-- From 2022/06/20 to 2022/06/26
-- From Château de Ravignan à Mont-de-Marsan
img




 TheGPS tracklog Clic on the pic for opening it
 from Montalivet to Hourtin Plage
 from 2022/06/20 to 2022/06/20

Hourtin-Plage

Monday, June 20 was a morning in the national forest of Flamand, which is an 879-hectare Médoc forest, stretching along the coast between the towns of Montalivet-les-Bains to the north and Hourtin-Plage to the south. I traveled it at 30 km/h to enjoy the smell of the pines, the landscape in a wild state; of course, the ONF (National Forest Office) provides maintenance for the selected cuts of wood. The village of Hourtin is more touristy than Montalivet, the two large car parks near the beach have limited access to a height of two meters. I went my way to park between the village and the forest. At the end of June the horde of tourists has not yet swept.

img img
The beach
img
img




 The GPS tracklogClic on the pic for opening it
 from Hourtin Plage to Longarisse
 from 2022/06/21 ato 2022/06/21

Longarisse

Tuesday, June 21 was a day of visit after another night of rain. The branches torn from the trees strewing the roads attest to the violence of the wind. The town of Lacanau is of no interest, however Lacanau-Océan on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean is the epitome of organization centered on the tourist to be punctured; Admittedly, the summer season is short, and inflation and soaring fuel costs will have a negative impact on attendance. I bivouacked in the parking lot of the Place des Fleurs de Longarisse on the shores of Lac de Lacanau.

img img
Lacanau Lake
img





 The GPS tracklog Clic on the pic for opening it
 from Longarisse to Arcachon
 dfrom 2022/06/22 to 2022/06/22

Arcachon

Wednesday, June 22 I left Longarisse for Arcachon with a "stop and go" in Andernos-les-Bains to capture and immortalize the Saint-Eloi Church which dates from the 11th century built on the foundations of a Roman villa, a typical example of reuse building materials. I arrived in Arcachon around 12:00 p.m., not to visit the city whose center of interest is the seafront and then the climbing of the Dune du Pilat which I was careful not to do. However, the stop was motivated by the purchase of two backups because before my departure I had omitted to check the free space of the backup disks. I found my happiness at Darty in La Teste. Then I planted my tepee in the parking lot of Intermarché.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img




 The GPS tracklog Clic on the pic for opening it
 from Arcachon to Préchac
 from 2022/06/23 to 2022/06/23

Préchac

Thursday, June 23, I immersed myself in the Landes de Gascogne with its castles, some of which are occupied by families with many districts of nobility. In Villandraut there is a fortified castle built in the 14th century by the future Pope Clement V. Further on the feudal castle of Roquetaillade was built by the nephew of Clement V! In Bazas I parked the truck on the Place de la Cathédrale Saint-Jean, built from the 13th to the 16th and 18th centuries, which has three portals, the central portal of which is dedicated to the Last Judgment, as it should be. The church of Uzeste has the privilege of having the burial of Clement V with his marble recumbent. Finally it was the castle of Cazeneuve property of the Albret family and its current descendants. It was the stronghold of the future King Henri IV. All these castles can only be visited outside the summer season in the afternoon. I went on my way to bivouac on the place of the church of Préchac.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img





 The GPS tracklogClic on the pic for opening it
 from Préchac to Luxey
 from 2022/06/24 to 2022/06/24

Luxey

Friday, June 24, the morning was rainy like the previous night. The tour proposed by the Green guide book runs through the Landes de Gascogne natural park criss-crossed by hiking trails in the fragrant forest, alas it is no longer for me. I therefore traveled at low speed under temporary rain showers. The first stop was in Belin-Béliet in search of the stele built in honor of Eleanor of Aquitaine. Then in Moustey I walked around two churches on the way to Compostela with the marker indicating 1,000 km to reach the Grail! At Pissos I glanced at the church of Richet. I was looking forward to visiting the Écomusée de Marquèze in Sabers and taking a little tourist train to see the Marquèze district. Alas two huge school buses vomited a string of noisy boys and girls, I went my way. Finally in Luxey I stopped to see the resinous products workshop of Jacques and Louis Vidal, patatrac it was only a ruin, thank you the Green guide book. I decided to set up camp behind the town hall on a large piece of land adjoining the cemetery occupied by peaceful people.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img img
Pilgrim on the way to Santiago de Compostela
img





 The GPS tracklog Clic on the pic for opening it
 from Luxey à château to Ravignan
 from 2022/06/25 to 2022/06/25

Château de Ravignan

Saturday June 25 the days follow one another and look alike, scattered rain and low temperature for the season. Arriving in Mont-de-Marsan a downpour greeted me, fortunately there are no buildings worth seeing. I quickly took a photo of the banks of the Midou river. I had parked the truck in one of the few uncovered car parks in the city center whose barrier limiting the height to two meters was open. By departmental roads I went to Bascons to see a 13th century church dedicated to Notre-Dame-de-la-course-Landaise, why not! Villeneuve-de Marsan is an old 13th century bastide which has retained its brick church and a crenellated tower. The religious buildings of the Middle Ages are always, for me, a wonder by the audacious architecture, the polychrome sculptures and the multicolored stained glass windows. Here, a contemporary stained glass window retraces the scene of the baptism of Jesus of Nazareth by John the Baptist placed in perspective with the baptismal font of the church, a Virgin and Child in the half-light surmounted by the dove symbol of the Holy Spirit. I set up my camp on the grassy car park of the Château de Ravignan, without visiting it

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img





 The GPS tracklog Clic on the pic for opening it
 from château de Ravignan to Mont-de-Marsan
 from 2022/06/25 to 2022/06/25

Mont-de-Marsan

Sunday, June 26 another day of rain and an autumnal temperature. The circuit of the day was the continuation of the one started the day before from Mont-de-Marsan, but on a Sunday! The first visit, Écomusée de l'Armagnac, and the second visit, the Chapelle N.-D.-Des-Cyclistes, were closed. After yesterday's visit to Notre-Dame-de-la-Course-Landaise, I do not despair of visiting a Notre-Dame-Des-Boulistes etc. during my mop. Which attracts me two inappropriate remarks, the first the despisers of the Christian roots of France should go to deep and rural France to admire the religious buildings, and if possible on a Sunday at the time of the religious service. But Gustave Flaubert accompanied by Maxime Du Camp visiting the Holy Places in 1850 in Jerusalem concludes "not to become devout to visit Jerusalem", approximate quote. Régis Debray, commissioned by Jacques Chirac, made several stays in Palestine and Israel, wrote about the same thing subliminally in his opus "Un candide en Terre Sainte". To avoid any trial of intent, I am an agnostic Catholic. My journey continued through three villages dating from the Middle Ages that have preserved very pretty bastides, Labastide d'Armagnac and its Place Royale, Saint-Justin and its Place des Tilleuls and finally Roquefort. Back in Mont-de-Marsan I bivouacked in the Carrefour desert car park on Sunday afternoon.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
+

som

France

eng
-- Du 2022/06/20 au 2022/06/26
-- De Montalivet à Mont-de-Marsan
img




 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de Montalivet à Hourtin Plage
 du 2022/06/20 au 2022/06/20

Hourtin-Plage

Lundi 20 juin fut une matinée dans la forêt domaniale du Flamand qui est un massif forestier médocain de 879 hectares, s'étirant le long du littoral entre les communes de Montalivet-les-Bains au nord et Hourtin-Plage au sud. Je la parcourais à 30 km/h pour apprécier l’odeur des pins, le paysage à l’état sauvage ; bien sûr l’ONF assure l’entretien pratiquant des coupes de bois sélectionnées. Le village d’Hourtin est plus touristique que Montalivet, les deux grands parkings proches de la plage ont un accès limité à une hauteur de deux mètres. Je passais mon chemin pour stationner entre le village et la forêt. En cet fin du mois de juin la horde des touristes n’a pas encore déferlé.

img img
La plage
img
img




 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de Hourtin Plage à Longarisse
 du 2022/06/21 au 2022/06/21

Longarisse

Mardi 21 juin fut une journée de visite après encore une nuit de pluie. Les branches arrachées aux arbres jonchant les routes attestent de la violence du vent. La ville de Lacanau ne présente aucun intérêt, cependant Lacanau-Océan au bord de l’océan Atlantique est la quintessence de l’organisation centrée sur le touriste à ponctionner ; certes la saison estivale est courte, de plus l’inflation et l'envolée du coût du carburant aura un impact négatif sur la fréquentation. Je bivouaquais sur le parking de la Place des Fleurs de Longarisse au bord du Lac de Lacanau.

img img
Lac de Lacanau
img





 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de Longarisse à Arcachon
 du 2022/06/22 au 2022/06/22

Arcachon

Mercredi 22 juin Je quittais Longarisse pour Arcachon avec un "stop and go" à Andernos-les-Bains pour saisir et immortaliser l’Église Saint-Eloi qui date du 11e siècle construite sur les fondations d’une villa romaine, exemple type du remploi des matériaux de construction. J’arrivai à Arcachon vers 12h00, non pour visiter la ville dont le centre d’intérêt est le front de mer puis l’escalade de la Dune du Pilat que je me gardais bien de faire. Cependant l’arrêt était motivé par l’achat de deux sauvegardes externes car avant mon départ j’avais omis de vérifier l’espace libre des disques de sauvegardes. Je trouvais mon bonheur chez Darty à La Teste. Puis je plantais mon tipi (tepee, en anglo-américain) sur le parking d’Intermarché.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img




 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 d'Arcachon à Préchac
 du 2022/06/23 au 2022/06/23

Préchac

Jeudi 23 juin je m’immergeais dans les Landes de Gascogne avec ses châteaux dont certains sont occupés par les familles aux nombreux quartiers de noblesse. A Villandraut il s’agit d’un château fort édifié au 14e siècle par le future pape Clément V. Plus loin le château féodal de Roquetaillade fut édifié par le neveu de Clément V ! A Bazas je stationnais le camion sur la Place de la cathédrale Saint-Jean construite du 13e au 16e et 18e siècle qui possède trois portails dont le portail central est consacré au jugement dernier, comme il se doit. L’église d’Uzeste a le privilège d’avoir la sépulture de Clément V avec son gisant de marbre. Finalement ce fut le château de Cazeneuve propriété de la famille d’Albret et de ses descendants actuels. Il fut le fief du future roi Henri IV. Tous ces châteaux ne sont visitables hors saison estivale que l’après-midi. Je passais mon chemin pour bivouaquer sur la place de l’église de Préchac.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
img





 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de Préchac à Luxey
 du 2022/06/24 au 2022/06/24

Luxey

Vendredi 24 juin la matinée fut pluvieuse comme la nuit précédente. Le circuit proposé par le guide Vert parcourt le parc naturel des Landes de Gascogne sillonné par des pistes de randonnée en forêt odoriférante, hélas ce n’est plus pour moi. Je circulai donc à petite vitesse sous des averses de pluie passagères. Le premier arrêt fut à Belin-Béliet à la recherche de la stèle édifiée en l’honneur d’Aliénor d’Aquitaine. Puis à Moustey je fis le tour de deux églises sur le chemin de Compostelle avec la borne indiquant 1.000 km pour atteindre le Graal ! A Pissos je jetai un coup d’œil à l’église de Richet. Je me réjouissais de visiter l’Écomusée de Marquèze à Sabres et de prendre un petit train touristique pour voir le Quartier de Marquèze. Hélas deux énormes bus scolaires vomissaient une ribambelle de garçons et filles bruyants, je passais mon chemin. Finalement à Luxey je m’arrêtai pour voir l’atelier de produits résineux de Jacques et Louis Vidal, patatrac ce n’étais qu’une ruine, merci le guide Vert. Je décidais de poser mon campement derrière la mairie sur un vaste terrain jouxtant le cimetière occupé par des gens paisibles.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img img
Pélerin sur le chemin de St-Jacques de Compostelle
img





 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de Luxey à château de Ravignan
 du 2022/06/25 au 2022/06/25

Château de Ravignan

Samedi 25 juin les jours se suivent et se ressemblent, pluie éparsée et température basse pour la saison. En arrivant à Mont-de-Marsan une averse m’accueillit, heureusement il n’y a pas de bâtiments à voir dignes d’intérêt. Je pris rapidement une photo des berges du Midou. J’avais stationné le camion sur l’un des rares parkings découverts du centre-ville dont la barrière limitant la hauteur à deux mètres était ouverte. Par des routes départementales j’allais à Bascons pour voir une église du 13e siècle dédiée à Notre-Dame-de-la-Course-Landaise, pourquoi pas ! Villeneuve-de Marsan est une ancienne bastide du 13e siècle qui a conservé son église de brique ainsi qu’une tour crènelé. Les édifices religieux du moyen-âge sont toujours, pour moi, un émerveillement par l’architecture audacieuse, les sculptures polychromes et les vitraux multicolores. Ici un vitrail contemporain retrace la scène du baptême de Jésus de Nazareth par Jean le Baptiste mis en perspective avec les fonts baptismaux de l’église, une Vierge à l’Enfant dans la pénombre surmonté par la colombe symbole de l’Esprit Saint. J’établis mon campement sur le parking herbeux du château de Ravignan, sans le visiter

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
+
img





 Le tracé GPS de la route Clic on the pic for opening it
 de château de Ravignan à Mont-de-Marsan
 du 2022/06/25 au 2022/06/25

Mont-de-Marsan

Dimanche 26 juin encore une journée de pluie et une température automnale. Le circuit du jour fut la continuation de celui commencé la veille au départ de Mont-de-Marsan, mais un dimanche ! La première visite, Écomusée de l’Armagnac, et la deuxième visite, la chapelle N.-D.-Des-Cyclistes, étaient portes closes. Après la visite hier de Notre-Dame-de-la-Course-Landaise je ne désespère pas de visiter au cours de ma vadrouille une Notre-Dame-Des-Boulistes etc. Ce qui m’attire deux remarques inappropriées, la première les contempteurs des racines chrétiennes de la France devraient aller dans la France profonde et rurale pour admirer les édifices religieux, et si possible un dimanche à l’heure de l’office religieux. Mais Gustave Flaubert accompagné de Maxime Du Camp visitant les Lieux Saints en 1850 à Jérusalem conclut "pour ne pas devenir dévot visiter Jérusalem", citation approximative. Régis Debray, missionné par Jacques Chirac, fit plusieurs séjours en Palestine et en Israël, écrit à peu près la même chose de manière subliminale dans son opus "Un candide en Terre Sainte". Pour éviter tout procès d’intention, je suis catholique agnostique. Mon parcours se poursuivit par trois villages datant du Moyen-Âge ayant conservé de très jolies bastides, Labastide d’Armagnac et sa place Royale, Saint-Justin et sa place des Tilleuls enfin Roquefort. De retour à Mont-de-Marsan je bivouaquais sur le parking de Carrefour désert le dimanche après-midi.

click on the pic for opening the gallery

img
+